Average price of coffee in Korea is around $5-6 in a nice area. If you live in a college area, you can get a cup for about $2-3. In Korea, Starbucks will be crowded. You may be disappointed in the coffee itself, as I have heard many are. However, if you are like me and started your coffee drinking days with cafeteria-style coffee brewed early in the morning and enjoyed late in the evening (with a nice burnt taste) you will not be able to distinguish any noticeable flavor differences. My favorite coffee flavors these days are 고구마 라떼 Sweet Potato Latte. It is sweet, yummy, and I hope not fattening.  Here’s a fun Korean indie song that I heard on the radio and can’t get out of my mind. I guess this is partially because it is catchy and the chorus is easy to sing. An ode to coffee! (please forgive my poor translation, but you get the gist).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OmJYbdRfDNQ

아메리카노 좋아 좋아 좋아 I like like like Americano
아메리카노 진해 진해 진해 dark dark dark Americano
어떻게 하노 시럽 시럽 시럽 What to do? syrup syrup syrup

빼고 주세요 빼고 주세요 Please leave it out, please leave it out

이쁜 여자와 담배피고 차 마실 때 When i smoke with a pretty girl and then drink tea
메뉴판이 복잡해서 못 고를 때 When the menu is confusing and I can’t decide
사글세 내고 돈 없을 때 밥 대신에 When I have rent to pay and no money
짜장면 먹고 후식으로 Instead of rice I eat jjangmyun and for dessert…

아메리카노 좋아 좋아 좋아 I like like like Americano
아메리카노 깊어 깊어 깊어 Americano is strong strong strong
어떻게 하노 설탕 설탕 설탕 What to do? sugar sugar sugar
빼고 주세요 빼고 주세요 please leave it out, please leave it out

여자친구와 싸우고서 바람 필 때 After fighting with my girl I cheat
다른 여자와 입맞추고 담배 필 때 and after kissing another girl, I smoke
마라톤하고 감질나게 목축일 때 After running a marathon and when my throat is dry
순대국 먹고 후식으로 I eat soondae soup and for dessert…

아메리카노 좋아 좋아 좋아 I like like like Americano
아메리카노 진해 진해 진해 Americano is dark dark dark
어떻게 하노 시럽 시럽 시럽 What to do? syrup syrup syrup
빼고 주세요 빼고 주세요 Please leave it out, please leave it out
빼고 주세요 빼고 주세요 Please leave it out, please leave it out

