So I keep hearing this word:  부럽다/ 부러워요. It means “to be envious” but Koreans use this to show a friendly jealous.

A: I’m married and have a good job.

B: Ah, I’m so jealous of you.

 

This kind of jealousy/envy is supposedly positive, though I am not sure exactly why as it seems like another way for Korean people to compare themselves to others. Maybe it is supposed to be a compliment, but maybe it is not.  I think in the U.S. we say “I’m so jealous!” in a friendly way, but more often than not we think it and secretly wish that we could live like the other person.

 

In any case, this  phrase can also be used to describe how we are jealous of the other sex.  I’m so jealous that men can get ready without doing anything to their hair, that women can cry and get better treatment when they apologize, etc.  You can see the same kind of 부러운 느낌 in this clip. Loving this show and you should too!  롤러코스터 남녀 탐구생활 is a look into investigating the differences between the sexes. It is a show for Koreans, but isn’t it just perfect for using when studying Korean?

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qYYqnWO_ZLE&feature=mh_lolz&list=HL1309175576

